The Jewish Festival of Sukkot

The Jewish Festival of Sukkot appears in the Bible in Lev 23:34. Some
times spelt as Succot or Succos.
It is described as the “Feast of Tabernacles.” Sukkot is a pilgrimage
festival, which means it is one of three festivals which, before the
year 70 CE, was celebrated by a mass pilgrimage to the Temple in
Jerusalem.  For this reason it is also known as a foot festival.

In Israel, Sukkot lasts for 7 days. The first and last days are
holidays (Yom Tov) like Shabbat, in which, traditionally, work is
prohibited. The intermediate days of Sukkot are called Chol Ha-Moed,
and traditionally, work is permitted on these days.

In the Diaspora, Orthodox communities celebrate 8 days of
Sukkot, with two non-work days at the beginning and the end of the
festival. The difference in the Diaspora, commemorates a time when
signal fires and couriers were used to tell those in the Diaspora that
a festival was starting at the Temple in Jerusalem. As it took a long
time for this information to disseminate, the Diaspora observed the
festival for longer, a tradition which has remained. The last days of
Sukkot are called Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah.

The Sukka
The Sukka is a temporary shelter. It is significant because Sukkot
commemorates the Exodus from Egypt. During Sukkot, Jews remember the
forty-year period during which the children of Israel were wandering in
the desert, living in temporary shelters. This is the reason why Sukkot
is celebrated by making a Sukka (a tabernacle or temporary shelter).

On Sukkot, Jews are commanded to live in a Sukka, just as the
Israelites did, in the desert after the Exodus. Observant Jews will eat
all their meals in the Sukka during Sukkot and some will even sleep in
there. Traditionally, when partaking of a meal in the Sukkah,
containing at least two ounces of bread or cake, the following blessing
is said:

Ba-ruch A-tah Ado-nai E-lo-hei-nu Me-lech Ha-olam Asher
Kideshanu Bemitzvotav Vetzivanu Leshev Basukkah

Blessed are You, Lord our G-d, King of the universe, who has
sanctified us with His commandments, and commanded us to sit in the

Building a Sukka
A Sukkah must have at least three walls. The roof of the sukkah must be
made of material referred to as sekhakh, which means “covering”.
Sekhakh must be something that grew from the ground and was cut
off, such as tree branches. It is customary to decorate the walls of a
sukka. Insome countries fruit is hung inside, to reinforce the harvest theme. 
In Israel, Sukkas are decorated in the interior with pictures,
streamers and tinsel.

The Four Species – The Lulav and Etrog
Sukkot is also a harvest festival, a time to celebrate the gathering of
the crops. This is why it is sometimes referred to as Chag Ha’Asif,
the Festival of the Ingathering (harvesting).

There is a commandment to gather together the following plants: an
Etrog (a citrus fruit native to Israel), Lulav (palm branch), Hadas (3
myrtle branches), and Arava (2 willow branches).  The branches are
then joined together and referred to as the Lulav.  The etrog is held
separately.   These are known in Hebrew as the arbat haminim,
the four species.
There are special prayers to say, whilst waving the species
in six directions (east, south, west, north, up and down) to symbolize
that God is everywhere:

Ba-ruch A-tah Ado-nai E-lo-hei-nu Me-lech Ha-olam Asher
Ki-deshanu Be-mitzvo-tav Ve-tzvi-vanu Al Netilat Lulav.

Blessed are You, L-rd, our G-d, King of the universe, who has
sanctified us with His commandments and has commanded us to hold the

Each day during Sukkot, there are special processions in Synagogue
where the Lulav and Etrog are held. These processions remind practicing
Jews of the processions around the alter of the ancient Temple in
Jerusalem. The processions are called Hoshanas and prayers
are recited with the plea to G-d to save us.

Sukkot is a happy and sociable festival for the Jewish people. In
Israel, school children are on vacation during Sukkot and many people
take hikes around Israel and have parties in which they invite people
to eat with them in their sukkas.

Other slides in this module: