Seven Churches

Revelation 1:9-11 and 1:4. John had to write seven letters to seven churches. These seven letters were dictated to him by an angel that got the message direct from Jesus.

To see the letters to these seven churches penned by John, see links below.

1. Ephesus – The name means: The Desired One. 5. Sardis – The name means: Remnant.
2. Smyrna – The name means: Myrrh; Death. 6. Philadelphia – The name means: Brotherly Love.
3. Pergamum – The name means: Mixed Marriage. 7. Laodicea – The name means: People Rule.
4. Thyatira – The name means: A perfume, sacrifice of labor. An earlier name for this city is Semiramis.

These seven churches existed in local towns and today the towns can still be found even if the cities or towns have modern names. Today the cities or towns are found in modern Turkey.

There are many reasons why the churches are in this order. Can you think of any?

Background Reading:

John’s Vision of the Messiah

1:9 I am John, your brother and partner in the oppression, kingdom, and patience that comes because of Jesus. I was on the island called Patmos because of the word of God and the testimony about Jesus. 10 I came to be in the Spirit on the Day of the Lord, when I heard a loud voice behind me like a trumpet, 11 saying, “Write on a scroll what you see, and send it to the seven churches: Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia, and Laodicea.”
Revelation 1:9–11

Greetings and Doxology
4 From John

The Revelation of Jesus the Messiah to the Seven Churches in the province of Asia:

May grace and peace be yours from the one who is, who was, and who is coming, from the seven spirits who are in front of his throne.
Revelation 1:4

Other slides in this module: