Jesus chooses His Twelve Apostles

Luke 6:12-16. After Jesus had spent a night in prayer He chose out of His followers those He wanted to especially train.

      The twelve He chose were:

    • Simon (whom He named Peter),
    • His brother Andrew,
    • James and his brother John,
    • John,
    • Philip,
    • Bartholomew sometimes called Nathanael,
    • Matthew some times called Levi,
    • Thomas also called Didymus, which means twin,
    • James son of Alphaeus,
    • Simon who was called the Zealot,
    • Judas son of James,
    • And Judas Iscariot, who became a traitor.

After Jesus had sent out His twelve disciples He would change their designation to Apostle. The word Apostle means commissioned representative or sent out ones. See Apostles expanded chart.

Background Reading:

Jesus Appoints His Twelve Apostles

6:12 Now it was in those days that Jesus went to a mountain to pray, and he spent the whole night in prayer to God. 13 When daylight came, he called his disciples and chose twelve of them, whom he also called apostles: 14 Simon (whom he named Peter), his brother Andrew, James, John, Philip, Bartholomew, 15 Matthew, Thomas, James (the son of Alphaeus), Simon (who was called the Zealot), 16 Judas (the son of James), and Judas Iscariot (who became a traitor).
Luke 6:13-16
Also see: Matthew 10:1-4; Mark 3:13-19.

Other slides in this module: